Alcoholic liver disease

Alcoholic liver disease is one of the most common hepatic disorders associated with the alcohol abuse. The risk of the alcoholic liver disease depends largely on the dose, duration and frequency of alcohol consumption. It is established that the risk of liver injury increases significantly when more than 40-80 grams of pure ethanol (ethyl alcohol) is used per day per day for at least 5 years.

This amount of ethanol is contained in 100-200 ml of vodka (40% of alcohol), 400-800 ml of dry wine (10% of alcohol) 800-1600 ml of beer (5% of alcohol). These doses of alcohol are considered to be critical for the adult persons. Women and adolescents are more sensitive to alcohol, and critical daily doses of ethanol are much lower for them. For the women the use of more than 20 g of ethanol per day is harmful.

Development of the alcoholic liver disease is independent of the type of the used alcoholic beverages. Only the amount of the used pure ethanol is important. Thus, use of beer only for over 5 years, the daily dose of which is 40-80 grams of pure ethanol, can lead to liver injury.

There are a few forms or stages of the alcoholic liver disease: fatty liver (hepatosis), acute and chronic alcoholic hepatitis, cirrhosis and/or liver cancer.

Alcohol and liver 

Stages of alcoholic liver disease

The first stage of the alcoholic liver disease is the fatty degeneration of liver or fatty hepatosis. Chronic alcoholic hepatitis (steatohepatitis) differs from steatosis with the changes in biochemical liver function tests specific to the inflammation and cell death - increased levels of the AST and ALT. Chronic alcoholic hepatitis may be occult or have clinically marked exacerbations, so called attacks of acute alcoholic hepatitis. It leads to the development of alcoholic cirrhosis.

Acute alcoholic hepatitis can develop at any stage of alcoholic liver disease. It occurs after the excessive intake of alcohol and is characterized by the development of abdominal pain, nausea, fever and jaundice. Common symptoms include the enlargement of the abdomen due to accumulation of fluid in it (ascites), bleeding from the nose, gums, and gastrointestinal tract. The increase of the white blood count in the complete blood count is very characteristic. The severity of the attack of acute alcoholic hepatitis varies from the mild anicteric form to the severe form with the pronounced jaundice (20-fold increase in bilirubin levels), in which the mortality is 50-60%.

Alcoholic cirrhosis develops in about 10-20% of alcohol abusers. The hepatic injuries at this stage are manifested with the jaundice, enlarged liver, cirrhosis complications including liver failure, portal hypertension, ascites, bleeding from esophageal veins. Alcoholic cirrhosis is a predisposition to the development of liver cancer.

Excessive consumption of alcohol leads to the disorders of many organs, in addition to liver:

  • gastrointestinal tract (heartburn due to inflammation of the esophagus, esophageal ruptures with bleeding, gastritis, gastric ulcer and duodenal ulcer),
  • pancreas (frequent diarrhea, abdominal pain, and severe acute pancreatitis requiring surgical treatment),
  • brain (nervous system degeneration),
  • peripheral nervous system (numbness, extremity sensation disorders),
  • heart (increased blood pressure, heart failure and others),
  • skeletal muscles, blood cells, skin, kidney.

These disorders create some "alcoholic pattern", which allows the doctor to correctly diagnose the chronic alcoholic disease with the liver injury despite of latent liver involvement and often observed the patient denial of the alcohol abuse.

The main and most effective method of treatment of alcoholic liver disease is the complete cessation of alcohol intake. Abstinence from alcohol at the stage of fatty degeneration of liver results in the complete restoration of the size and structure of the liver. Prescription of the hormonal products may be required in the severe acute alcoholic hepatitis. An important component of the treatment is adequate and balanced diet and restoration of the deficiency of the vitamins and micronutrient elements. Prognosis for patients with the alcoholic liver cirrhosis in total abstinence from alcohol is in general favorable.

Алкогольная болезнь печени

Алкогольная болезнь печени — одно из самых распространенных заболеваний печени, обусловленное злоупотреблением алкоголем. Риск развития алкогольной болезни печени в значительной степени зависит от доз, длительности и регулярности употребления алкоголя. Установлено, что риск поражения печени достоверно увеличивается при употреблении более 40-80 граммов чистого этанола (этилового спирта) в день на протяжении не менее 5 лет.

Это количество этилового спирта содержится в 100-200 мл водки (крепостью 40%), 400-800 мл сухого вина (крепостью 10%), 800-1600 мл пива (крепостью 5%). Эти дозы алкогольных напитков рассматриваются как критические для взрослых мужчин. Женщины и подростки более чувствительны к алкоголю, и критические ежедневные дозы этанола для них существенно ниже. Так, для женщин употребление больше 20 г этанола в сутки является опасным.

Развитие алкогольной болезни печени не зависит от типа употребляемых спиртных напитков. Имеет значение только количество употребляемого чистого этанола. Так, употребление в течение более 5 лет только пива, суточная доза которого соответствует 40-80 граммам чистого этанола, может привести к повреждению печени.

Выделяют ряд форм или стадий алкогольной болезни печени: жировая дистрофия печени (гепатоз), острый и хронический алкогольный гепатит, цирроз и/или рак печени.

 Алкоголь и печень

Стадии алкогольной болезни печени

Первой стадией алкогольного поражения печени является ее жировая дистрофия, или жировой гепатоз. Хронический алкогольный гепатит (стеатогепатит) отличается от стеатоза появлением изменений в биохимических печеночных пробах, характерных для воспалительного процесса и гибели клеток — повышения уровней ферментов АСТ, АЛТ. Хронический алкогольный гепатит может протекать скрыто или с клинически выраженными обострениями — так называемыми атаками острого алкогольного гепатита. Он ведет к развитию алкогольного цирроза печени.

Острый алкогольный гепатит может развиться на любом этапе алкогольной болезни печени. Он возникает после избыточного приема алкоголя и характеризуется появлением болей в животе, тошноты, лихорадки и желтухи. Нередко наблюдается увеличение живота за счет скопления в нем жидкости (асцит), кровоточивость из носа, десен, кровотечения из желудочно-кишечного тракта. Очень характерно повышение количества лейкоцитов в клиническом анализе крови. Тяжесть атаки острого алкогольного гепатита варьирует от легкой безжелтушной формы до тяжелого варианта с выраженной желтухой (20-кратное повышение уровня билирубина), смертность при котором достигает 50-60%.

Алкогольный цирроз печени формируется примерно у 10-20% лиц, злоупотребляющих алкоголем. Поражения печени на этой стадии проявляются наличием желтухи, увеличением печени, осложнениями цирроза печени — печеночной недостаточностью, портальной гипертензией, асцитом, кровотечениями из вен пищевода. Алкогольный цирроз печени предрасполагает к развитию рака печени.

Избыточное употребление алкоголя приводит к поражению целого ряда органов, помимо печени:

  • желудочно-кишечного тракта (изжога из-за воспаления пищевода, разрывы пищевода с кровотечениями, гастрит, язвы желудка и 12-перстной кишки);
  • поджелудочной железы (частые поносы, боли в животе и тяжелый острый панкреатит, требующий хирургического лечения);
  • мозга (дегенерация нервной системы);
  • периферической нервной системы (онемение, нарушения чувствительности в конечностях);
  • сердца (повышение артериального давления, сердечная недостаточность и др.);
  • скелетных мышц, клеток крови, кожи, почек.

Эти поражения создают своеобразный «алкогольный орнамент», который, несмотря на скрыто протекающее поражение печени и часто наблюдающееся отрицание больными факта злоупотребления алкоголем, позволяет врачу правильно диагностировать хроническую алкогольную болезнь с поражением печени.

Основным и наиболее действенным методом лечения алкогольной болезни печени является полное прекращение приема алкоголя. На стадии жировой дистрофии печени отказ от алкоголя приводит к полному восстановлению размеров и структуры печени. При тяжелом остром алкогольном гепатите может понадобиться назначение гормональных препаратов. Важным компонентом лечения является полноценное сбалансированное питание, восстановление дефицита витаминов и микроэлементов. Прогноз больных алкогольным циррозом печени при полном отказе от приема алкоголя в целом благоприятен.